2017 – Time to JUMP

1-jump

It’s a new year. A new chapter. A blank canvas waiting to be filled over the next twelve months. There is no need to dwell on anything that has happened in the years before this one. It’s time to look ahead. Time to lay down some more bricks towards building the next part of our lives.

I have spent several days and nights thinking, analyzing and trying to figure out what I want out of this year. How I’m going to go about making it happen and getting myself ready for the journey that awaits. A couple of weeks ago, I had an experience where I encountered a quote on three different occasions on the same day. It clearly demanded my attention. “Every next level of your life will demand a different you”. Powerful as that sounded and as much as it resonated with me, I was still trying to decipher what the universe was trying to tell me with this sign that followed me around all day. All I knew at the time was that it meant something to me and I would eventually figure it out.

Something else that makes it hard to clear the fog surrounding the vision of the future is all the voices and opinions all around trying to pitch in and say what is right and what isn’t. What would work and what wouldn’t. Sometimes we open ourselves up to those opinions because we hope they will somehow help us find our way and discover the best path to follow, but instead those opinions have the opposite effect. They make us question everything. They discourage us. They make us wonder if we know what we’re doing. If it’s the right thing and we get more and more entangled in the web of uncertainty and confusion.

Maybe that had something to do with how much I have needed to spend time on my own with my own thoughts. Listening to my own heart and trying to work things out by myself. And the more time I had, the more time I wanted. “Alone time is when I distance myself from the voices of the world so I can hear my own”. One of my favorite quotes by Oprah and it made its way into my thoughts and reminded me that there is nothing wrong with taking or needing this time by myself. It wasn’t simply an outright escape from “reality”. There was more to it. I needed to go into my own world where there is no noise from everything and everyone else. A chance for me to hear my own voice that was drowned out by everything else going on around me.

The pieces of the puzzle started coming together. What I want for this year more than anything else is to create a reality that I don’t want to or feel the need to escape from. We all have times we need to retreat and take a step back from our lives and “escape”. And sometimes we don’t want to come back from those spaces and places we escape to. It’s easy to spend the majority of our time on autopilot while our hearts long for a completely different energy. And that, to me, is the difference between living and merely existing… If we only wait for special occasions or isolated days and moments to truly feel alive, then we are spending the majority of our lives doing ourselves the injustice of merely existing.

So, the goal for 2017 is simple. Living a life which furthers and pursues the things that set my soul on fire. Things that make my heart happy and bring a smile to my face. Doing things that build the reality I want. One I don’t need an escape from. One that is not narrated by anything or anyone else outside of myself. Living my purpose. And getting there will take a lot of energy and come with its hurdles and challenges that will make the climb feel like an uphill battle at times, but that is not enough to stop me… Deep down we all know what we want. All we need to do is listen to ourselves. Listen to that little voice that silently, yet firmly, whispers what we want. And distancing ourselves from the voices of the world makes that little voice more audible.

After having listened to that inner voice, it may be scary… Oftentimes the answers are of a magnitude we are unsure whether or not we have the capacity to live up to… So what do we do then?…. Well… That’s when the third and final clue from the universe came through and completed the puzzle in my quest for answers…. JUMP!!!!! Yes, JUMP. One simple, yet powerful word. The first time I ever encountered this message by Steve Harvey was last year at a very critical time in my life and I “coincidentally” came across a reminder to JUMP a day or two ago. “Coincidences” are far from coincidences. I don’t believe in coincidence. Everything happens for a reason. Sometimes we need a “sign” to trigger something within us to clear the fog and give us a vivid picture of the answers in search of which we spend sleepless nights and time in solitude.

Three seemingly simple and “random” quotes formed a triangle which disentangled the confusion.  Remember that first quote? “Every next level of your life will demand a different you”. I found it to mean that in this new chapter of my life, I need to trust myself more. I need to listen to myself more. And now, more than ever before, I need to mute the outside voices and be more focused and relentless in making my dreams my reality. No room for fear, pride, ego, doubt or any other deterrent. This chapter calls for a more solid version of me. One that cannot be swayed. One that does not back down. A me that does not take “no” for an answer and believes completely in my abilities and makes the most of my opportunities. One that takes charge completely… One that doesn’t hold back… Doesn’t look back…. It’s 2017 and it’s time to JUMP!!!!

(Disclaimer: No copyright infringement intended on use of imagery & video link)

Leave a Reply

