Cape Town – Beach Life

20161216_195235.jpg

Ever since I can remember, I have always loved the beach. It’s kind of funny seeing as I can’t swim to save my life, but that would never stop me from having all the fun in the water.

The first time I ever dipped my toes in the sand was in November 2011 at the beach in Durban. It was really awesome and liberating, but it was in May 2013 when I first traveled to Cape Town that I truly experienced the beauty of the beach, the sand and the sunset in a way unlike ever before. There is something really fascinating to me about it and it was only natural that I would want to see the sunset there again this year.

After a long, crazy year, I booked my flight and went to visit my friend in Cape Town. It was really fun being away from life as I know it and just having a different view and environment for a few days. I am beginning to enjoy travel more and more with each trip.

What makes Cape Town’s landscape so beautiful to me, among other things, is driving down the road surrounded by beautiful palm trees (which just so happen to be my favorites), how Table Mountain seems to everywhere – pretty much no matter how far you go or where you are, the different beaches that make you feel like you are in completely different places, the calmness, the breeze, the way your feet just sink in the sand, the high tides that catch you by surprise when they hit harder than expected and of course, the sunset. That, to me, is magical.

I played in the water like a carefree child, freezing as it was. Sitting on the beach watching the sun setting, seemingly falling into the ocean is something I could watch over and over again many times and I am pretty sure it would still take my breath away without fail each and every time. I love capturing such moments on camera and having those bits of those moments to carry on with me and look back on. For me, Cape Town represents a getaway and complete tranquility. Living in South Africa is a true blessing. It is without doubt one of the most beautiful countries in the world and there are so many places to visit and explore. Nature is a wonderful thing and the older I get, the more my appreciation grows.

Lunch by the beach side with cocktails and good food and company, walking barefoot in the sand on the beach, getting into the water waiting for the cold waves to hit and seeing the sun set will go down as some of the most beautiful memories I will take from 2016 going forward. I encourage anyone and everyone to visit Cape Town at least once… It’s a place and an experience like no other. Here’s to traveling more and enjoying the beauty of the simpler things in life. Take nothing for granted!

20161216_190907.jpg

(© Photography By: GMZee)

Leave a Reply

