A Letter to my younger self…

Little Girl,

There is so much I want to tell you… So much I want for you to know… As I see you sitting in the back looking out of the window, your mind taking you to far away places no one else could comprehend… 

The life ahead of you is filled with things even your own creative imagination could not envision… You will learn and experience more in the first twenty-something years of your life than many do in a lifetime… You will travel across the world and experience different people and ways of living life… And you will always adapt to your surroundings even though at times you will feel you don’t fit in…

You will always feel different. You will feel as though no matter how much you want to be understood, you aren’t… You will find your way, lose your way… Laugh… Cry… Rise… Fall… Love… Hurt… Dream… Win… Feel defeated… Life will feel like a roller coaster that keeps on going and just as you think it’s starting to make sense, something else will occur to show you that there is no method… There is no pattern… Things happen in their own way and what lies ahead can only keep you guessing….

Don’t let these things scare you… I want you to embrace your uniqueness…. Enjoy the laughter… Find strength after your tears… Look for the rainbow after the storm… See your scars as reminders of your persistence… Celebrate your achievements. When you try and don’t succeed, keep on keeping on… Keep on pushing until you get what you want. Don’t allow other people to dictate what you can or can’t do… Don’t push aside your own ideas because they don’t make sense to other people… Don’t see limitations as the end of the road… See them as challenges to overcome and learn the power you possess….

Your heart is pure and capable of unconditional love. Don’t try to hide it or pretend you don’t have it. Your mind is intelligent, witty and compelling. Don’t dumb yourself down just to make others comfortable. Your eyes see the world with an appreciation for the little details. It doesn’t make you crazy. 

Sometimes you will feel like you’re not good enough… You will feel alone in the world… With the odds stacked against you… People will come and go and when they go, you will feel unworthy and empty… How I wish I could shield you from the dark days… Hold you in my arms and tell you that it’s going to be ok… Wipe away every tear and erase every painful moment…. But I can’t… And I’m not supposed to… 

Just know this:

When you feel alone, look within and you will find me there… That voice that tells you, “Don’t give up”… That something that tells you to get up every morning and go out there and make a mark on this world… That intuition that tells you what is right and what is just not meant for you… Always trust me. I won’t let you down… I will never desert you. I will be with you through every victory, defeat and everything else in-between. I will never give up on you and you will never want for anything… Because I love you beyond measure and will always give my best to you… I will always pick you up when you fall and remind you why you started in the first place.

And if I had just two words to leave you with….

LOVE YOURSELF“… That’s what I’d say…

I’m sorry it took me this long to tell you this. But just like you, I’m human too.

Love, 

Me…

1936730_134086834184_3522920_n.jpg

 

Leave a Reply

